The Dwarfs are coming…

Has it really been a month already?

It must be time for a new Blog update.

Today I want to talk Warhammer fantasy, current products on the market, and thing that are due to be released.

October / November saw the release of the new Dark Elf rule book and a multi-player campaign guide called ‘Triumph and treachery’. Both looked very impressive. Now I’m not a Drow collector, but I have to say I was very impressed with a number of the sculpts that were released, from new core foot soldiers,  fantastic creatures such as a monster called a Kharibdyss, and the new ‘Cauldron of Blood. I am still to get a copy of the army book (I have asked good old saint Nick to assist with this so we’ll see), so I’m not in a place to see if the changes to the army book have any negative impacts to the force put out by the Dark elf player, as a Dwarf collector I often secretly hope for a few unintentional weaknesses within my foe, but they do seem to have done a well-rounded job on this one.

m1850293a_99120212005_DreadDragon02_873x627

As for ‘triumph and treachery’ I have can only say three words: ‘I want it’. I have been putting together multi-player games for a while now, as there were, until recently 3 regulars in my gaming group. What I like about the triumph and treachery campaign is that it is more than just multi-player, it appears to be a slightly different gaming system. With mercenaries, under hand tricks and a game resolution that is based on what you have killed during the game, it lends itself to a different style of play from regular Warhammer fantasy.

Triumph&Treachery

Now rumour has it that next year sees the release of a new Dwarf army book (the first since the beginning of Warhammer fantasy 7th edition) and I’m hoping for good things, we need some good changes because right now the sons of Grungi are just not that competitive.  So what would I like to see in the new Dwarf book.

Well my first worry is that, like with the other armies where the lists of magic items specific to that army have been severely stripped, the dwarf magic system of runes will be equally culled, to me this would be a travesty as the dwarf army has no real magic to speak of, and runic artefacts are one of their only ways of countering this, I would hate to see the choice of runes reduced to something like 7 or so options that can be selected

Many of the races in the Warhammer world have been given special rules that suit their character and background, the Dwarfs are not exception, but I feel the three long standing rules, Ancestral grudge, resolute and relentless need updating. The hatred of Greenskins and mistrust of elves is still a good rule, but resolute just hampers the already hampered dwarf movement, and relentless which allows dwarf to march even when within 8 of an enemy is redundant now that all armies can do it with a simple leadership test. I like to see some modification with these two rules. Also I would like lord, hero and special troop types to be stubborn to represent the tenacious dwarf spirit.

I would like to see the rangers as a separate warrior type, rather than just clansmen / quarrellers who can scout. Give them clansmen statistics and arm them with heavy armour, great weapons, throwing axes ad shields, with an option of swapping the axes for crossbows. As well as scouting, give them a rule that makes them difficult to detect prior to their first move, so they can have an actual impact on the game.

Please do not mess with the ‘Anvil of Doom’ too much, it is great that it works in the shooting phase and therefore cannot be dispelled, it made it a viable option that improved dwarf play.

Give weapons options to gyro-copters, things such as the template steam gun, but also a mini bolt thrower like the ‘skycutter’ carries, droppable bomb and/or a battering ram which gives +3 on the charge. Allow players to make units of gyro-copters, and consider two seater versions.

Please keep the organ gun at auto hit.

Please don’t rule out existing special characters in favour of new ones, but please re-introduce some of the old ones like Burlock Danminson or Gotrek and Felix.

Give Iron breakers something other than just good armour save, they no longer have their 2+ due to 8th edition rule, which is a shame, they used to be little tanks.

Introduce new gear:

Steam golems:

Dwarf dreadnought

Death rollers:

Deathroller

Airships:

images (8)

2 thoughts on “The Dwarfs are coming…

  1. Organ guns need nerfing they shouldn’t be able to volley through there own units. Also hope dwarfs get there own type of magic rather than shooting down everyone else’s. I to hope Dwarfs get some new toys

    • Hello Mark, thanks for reading and also for your comment.

      It has been a while since I played my Dwarfs in 8th edition, and I was not aware the organ gun could fire through its own units, you are quite right, that should be changed, its too…skaven for my liking. I just don’t want it to wrecked the way the Empire Volley gun was.

Leave a Reply

