A fine skirmish

I enjoyed my game at ‘Dark Sphere’ last month so much; that I have decided to try and make a regular thing of it. My tri weekly work pattern means every third Monday I should be able to get a game. Hopefully I will become reacquainted with the rules once more and maybe hit the tournament circuit once again. I’m not sure if I’m guaranteed an opponent every time, but I have already met a bunch of great people who have also been bitten by the Warhammer Fantasy bug.

For this game I decided to shake the dust off my Dwarfs and put the new army book through its paces. My opponent, a friendly gamer called ‘Daniel’ who was thankfully up to speed with the 8th ed rules; brought a beautifully painted High Elf army, so it was a great opportunity to strike a grudge from the old book and put the aloof sons of Asuryan back in their place.

After Daniel finished basing up, I was relieved to see that he had not brought any cavalry, but the sight of a lion chariot and two repeater bolt throwers was enough to make me pause for breath. The main thing that struck me about his force was how well it was painted, my dwarf models are old and not all completely painted, ‘damn my lazy streak’, but there was a beauty in his figures that seemed to make them shine like the glittering host they were representing.

We rolled for a scenario from the rulebook, which is not something I normally do; preferring to go straight for an open engagement or writing my own scenarios. We got ‘Meeting engagement’ which divides the table diagonally with a 12” no man’s land. Set up is decided by the role of the dice, each unit is rolled for on a D6, and any units for which you role a 1 do not come on during the set up phase but come into play as reinforcements later. Luck was with the High Elves on set up as all units passed, however I think that in my army both the fighting infantry units, an Iron Breaker horde and a Dwarf Warriors armed with great weapons must have found a few kegs of ‘Bugman’s XXX’, as they failed to turn up for the start.

After this however the tables turned as the dice gods were kind to me but not so good to Daniel, who didn’t have one successful magic phase, and although his elves aim during the shooting phase was true, they must have bought their arrow heads from the rubber emporium. The game wnet to 4 rounds and ended with victory for my sons of Grungi. Daniel was not without his successes however as his Sword Masters slaughtered my Warrior unit, taking out a T5 Runesmith, in one round of combat. When they tried the same trick with the Iron Breakers things weren’t so good for the Elves.

If the Sword Masters were man of the match for the High Elves, then the unit of choice for the Dwarfs had to be my duo of Gyrocopters, who weathered a storm of magic and arrow to caused havoc and sow mayhem amongst the pointy eared foe. The combination of steam gun and Brimstone gun proved a useful tool.

IMAG0569     IMAG0574

IMAG0580

IMAG0586

Results aside, I had a really enjoyable game with a fantastic opponent. Sadly again due to the game taking place in a shop there was a total absence of beer, but I was able to make amends for that on the way home, by stopping off at the local supermarket:

IMAG0590

One thought on “A fine skirmish

  1. Looks like a great time. While I’ve put the WH part behind me these days in terms of rules, I do still love to see a good FB with such good looking armies – and both sides look fantastic in the photos here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

