Of battles and beer

Time for an update, I have been quite busy at work so when I get home I’ve been a little tired and in no mood to type, paint or do very much that can be seen as constructive. However I have been lucky enough to play two cracking games recently and I thought it was high time I blogged about them and the beer that I have sank in victory and commiseration.

Sadness:

On Tuesday 12th August I woke up early full of energy and enthusiasm for the game of Warhammer I had been planning all weekend. That energy and enthusiasm however took a bit of a beating as I turned on the radio to the sad news that Robin Williams had died. I’m not sure why that effected me as much as it did. I did not know him personally, he was a man, a very funny man from film and television, and now he’s gone. I still cannot bring myself to un-follow him on twitter. But I do not want this to be the tone of my report.

High Elves Vs Empire:

Luckily I had already put my army list together, I was facing a good opponent in Daniel Reed at Dark Sphere, and his elves were itching for some revenge. I was not sure who to take to face them, but decided upon my Empire army. Whereas Dwarfs are my favourite, I’ve always had a soft spot for the Empire and have had an army since the 4 edition of the game. I tend to theme my armies and currently have a work in progress of a post ‘Storm of Chaos’ Witch/Chaos hunting style army, the sons of the empire trying to purge the home soil from the taint of the dark gods. Possible not the best thing to take against 2500 pts of High Elves, but I was determined to use them

I had some luck with the dice at first winning set up and first turn and made a good number of early wounds. However the skill of my opponent and his army of choice started to shine through and although I had troops left on the field at the end of the game, it was nothing short of a massacre victory for the asur.

Daniel had a ‘Frost Heart Pheonix’ which proved it was well worth its points, holding its own against a unit of Demi griffon knights. The High Elf magic was potent and devastated more than one of my units. The Hight Elves had the upper hand from after round two, but one moment I’ll treasure is when I used a hex scroll to turn his Mage into a frog:

IMAG1100

IMAG1106

IMAG1102

IMAG1129

The game was rather long and very enjoyable and after packing away we visited ‘The Pineapple’ a local pub for some post match brews. Nothing overly different in the range of beers here sadly, but I did get to sample a bottled light ale:

IMAG1131

Dwarfs Vs Chaos Warriors:

Last weekend my nephew Oscar finally got to collect his ‘Birthday present’ and to try his Chaos Warriors out against a new foe, my Dwarfs. Oscar went for a Nurgle marked warrior heavy force with two units of knights. I opted for my horde of Iron Breakers with supporting warrior unit. I also tried out the Iron Drakes which thankfully weren’t too shabby, and the rejuvenated Flame Cannon, which was pretty a game winner for Grungi’s boys. Oscar’s troops took a barrage light artillery before making their first move forward, His Dragon Ogres taking most of the impact. It was about two rounds before any combat started and it was a daring charge by a unit of Chaos Knight’s into the Iron Breakers. The knight stayed for two rounds with small losses between the units, they eventually fled and my thane lead an over run right into some fresh warriors of Chaos with their ex-halted champion, a good opportunity for a personal challenge. The Thane had to endure 6 blows as these mighty leaders traded blows each causing a wound, but neither stepping down. Dwarf numbers proved superior and the remaining warriors carried their leader away in a flow of armoured bodies running for the hills. The forces of Chaos did claim some souls however, I forgetfully left my Gyro-copter to the path of 20 Marauders, and my Dwarf warrior unit could not hold against the charge from the rallied Chaos knights and were mercilessly mown down as the broke from combat. The funniest moment for me other than some attempted game board sabotage by my older brother Daniel, was the fact that my miner unit chose to spend the majority of the game under ground only popping up during the final round to say hello.

Some post game advice was given to my Nephew to buy more cannon fodder troops to tie up his opponent’s artillery, and then it was time for lunch.

IMAG1186

IMAG1183

IMAG1193

IMAG1199

As I was at hope for this game I couldn’t resist a tipple, and cracked open a few bottles from the Badger Brewery which were kindly donated by Daniel as a visiting gift:

IMAG1167

IMAG1177

I final nod has to be given again to the Wanstead Tap, I took my brother and nephew there for some lunch and we tucked into some meaty pork pie and a lovely beer from a Bristol brewery, very nice:

IMAG1170_1

 

Leave a Reply

