Painting and games

Hello Mod’ers

It’s been a while again; however there are various good reasons for this. I have now decided to pull my finger out and type a new post. So what has MrSeb been busy with, you may be thinking to yourselves, and there’s no single answer, but amongst the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune faced in this life, I have had the opportunity to game and to paint, so I have to concede that when they say that there is a bright side to everything, they are actually right.

Frostgrave, I have still be as useful as a chocolate fire guard in regard to playing this game, the number of figures I plan to use in the game is piling up upon my bedroom floor, and I’ve managed to get three wizards painted up, my most recent being an elementalist:

IMAG3990_1

If I ever get close to playing this game I’ll let you know.

Other painting, I currently have a number of paint projects on the go (doesn’t everyone) I finally got around to completing the repaint on my Ostland Halberdier Captain for by ‘Blue Bear Old Boys’:

IMAG4537_1

When I have the front rank complete, the others will take less time as they will require less detail.

On top of this I have started a character based unit filler for my Lothern Sea Guard, and I have entered a painting competition run by ‘Gidran Miniatures’ I am painting up a kickstarter reward from last year; to take part in this; and will be painting a ‘Victorian Scrunt’ as sculpted by Bob Olley. Posts to follow when these ard complete.

I am able to get to my gaming club in Hackney a bit more regularly since me change in shift, and so have been able to get some good games of ‘Kings of War’ and ‘Warhammer 8th’ In particular I had a fun three way game of WHFB; in which I used my Lothern Sea Guard against a Chaos warrior horde and a Skaven litter. To prevent any kind of one sided play, we set up some objectives, each had a marker in their own area that needed protecting, and there was a further marker in the middle of the table that needed to be captured. There were some good plays, and crazy mistakes on both sides, the most enjoyable was seeing the chaos lord get rewarded for his valiant efforts against a pack of storm vermin, by being transformed into a Spawn. My High Elf prince mounted upon a moon dragon, charged and chased of a 40 strong unit of Chaos warriors, and the Skaven player turned a unit of Chaos ogres into clan rats with the 13th spell. My High Elf captain managed to capture the centre objective and my Reaver knights tried to capture the Chaos warrior marker as it had been left un-attended; however some Skaven swarms put pay to that plan by making it a contended marker. However as I held two marker at the end of a long and enjoyable game, the High Elves were victorious.

IMAG4402_1 IMAG4404_1

IMAG4412_1IMAG4427_1

As usual I have sampled many good ales since my last post, and although the ‘Three Sods IPA’ is a welcome refreshment at my gaming club, the tastiest on this occasion was the seasonal special:

IMAG4640

Leave a Reply

