A fun start to 2016

Hello MoDers, welcome to my first post of the year.
I have had a busy, yet fun beginning to the year. I have finally had some ‘Frostgrave’ action, done lots of painting, played a little Warhammer 8th, and drank some fine beer.
My first thoughts of ‘Frostgrave’ is that it is a game that is everything it promises to be, that may not mean a lot to many, so I’ll expand and say that they advertise a game of magic and adventure and that is exactly what you get. Being able to not only choose which school of magic that your Mage will follow; but also a set of spells from a wide range, and which adventurers to hire, makes for a great table top RPG suitable for one off games, or campaigns. You need to be careful in selecting your spells, as some work well together whilst some do not really mix. As you become more au fait with the gaming system, you can develop some unique moves that suit your style of play and wrong foot your opponents. I did not get any pics from the game I played, but can report that I came close but did not win. Campaign wise I would have done quite well having dispatched my enemy’s apprentice and one of his archers with no loses to my team, but the aim of our game was to collect the most treasure, and he gained 5 tokens to my 4. The gaming club I take go to: H.A.T.E is planning a ‘Fronstgrave’ campaign I am definitely going to sign up for. I have been working on my war-bands and can show my ‘Elemental Apprentice’ WIP plus selected mercenaries:


My good friend Nik Green has started to develop shells of buildings laser cutting wood panels into frames that can be made into structures of the hobbyists choice. Here is one that I have been working on:


My Warhammer game was lots of fun, my high elves had another outing, and this time they faced the Warriors of Chaos. The game managed to last the whole evening and was closely fought, with good moves by my opponent and nice counters by my troops. The chaos Chimera swoop upon and devoured all but one of my Ellyrian Reavers, the musician fled the field to scared to return. In response my prince mounted upon a Dragon and horde of white lions charged head long into a large unit of forsaken, and another one of warriors led by Festus the leech lord, and chopped them in to tiny pieces. At the end of the game the scores showed the high elves to be on top. However the gap was under 300 points and by Warhammer 8th rules that meant it was a draw. Results are all very well but it is the fun of the game that is important, and this was an excellent bout with ups and downs for both sides:


This year I am looking forward to new painting projects, more games, and Salute 2016. Despite the very sad news of the loss of four of my favourite stars: Lemmy Kilmister, David Bowie, Alan Rickman and Glen Frey, (three great musicians and a fantastic actor), I feel this year holds some promise.

Of the beers I sampled over these fews days of January my favourite was definitely ‘Innis & Gunn’s’ Highland Ale, A rich smooth ale that goes down a treat:

IMAG5368_1

3 thoughts on “A fun start to 2016

Leave a Reply

