League of Rhordia – War Shrine

Hello MoDers, I had been a tad tardy with my blogs of late, but hope to make up for that with two blogs in quick succession. Both will be in relation to Kings of War, the first about the design and assembly of my Rhordian ‘War Shrine’ while the other will be a battle report on my most recent games.

My League of Rhordia forces have been doing well quite recently. However they lacked a little something, so I read through the army book once more for inspiration. Some units are still waiting on a delivery of Halflings from two kickstarters I backed (Westphalia miniatures and The Assault Group). Given this delay, I needed something else to focus on, something that I could start on straight away.

Then I found the War Shrine of Rhordia, an item that is at the disposal of the Dukes and Barons on the league, which not only offers a good supporting attack, but donates a lovely rallying bonus to nearby troops, and able to shoot off 5 lightning bolts per round. I had enough components in my bits box, High Elf chariot, Warrior priest(s), horses, all the necessary things (almost).

After getting a few bits together, I had a long think about the design. Many things change from the first Items I drafted in, the most noticeable being the replacement of the horse for two Fenrisian wolves, to represent the Aralez that the people of Rhordia are so close to. They certainly lend some atmosphere to the piece.

Given the fact that the war shrine can shoot lightning, I wanted there to be a clear scientific reason for this, so on the podium behind the statue I placed two tesla coils, with two further copper coils on the underside of the shrine to indicate electricity generated by the movement of the shrine. I also wanted to show the power help by the relic and decided ‘what better than arcing electricity’. The only way I could think of doing this was with thinly rolled green stuff.

As I started to assemble the shrine my priest’s hammer proved too big and I just could not put him in place. So out came the tin snips and it was back to the bits box where I found a 40K power fist that could easily pass as Halfling tech. Quickly attached and painted I though he looked much better, than before, (although I apologise to any traditionalist who preferred the original look).

Anyway that is all for this instalment, I won’t make you wait too long for the next one.

IMAG0246_1

One thought on “League of Rhordia – War Shrine

Leave a Reply

