April Stuff

Happy May Day MoDers, Hope that April treated you well. I have not dome much in gaming terms this month, but still managed to get some hobby time.

W40Kepic

I believe I mentioned in my last post, I have started getting into the classic ‘Games Workshop’ games Warhammer 40K Epic. Although not currently supported it is not too hard to get hold of the rules and some miniatures to play this. I was one of many ‘Squat’ fans that was disappointed when GW stopped that range and claimed that the home-worlds had been devastated by the ‘Tyrannid’ Hive Fleet ‘Behemoth’. So I decided that as there are rules for this race in Epic they were going to be my army of choice. I have been able to collect a small force together, and have completed some painting one some war-machines, as I’m dreading painting the tiny troops that accompany them.

Games with my girl.

After recently getting my little girl Bethany into Xbox, I decided to try her with a table top game. I knew whatever I tried had to be easy to learn and interesting, and decided that ‘Wings of War’, with is rather basic rules and dye cast model Bi-planes I couldn’t go far wrong. I have the ‘Flying Aces’ WWI set for this game, it has been stowed away for a while since my friend Nik Green moved to Austria, we played the game now and then, but it has been on the shelf collecting dust for a while. I grabbed this and my carry case which contains a collection of allied fighter planes. When I opened the case and showed Bethany the content she was eager to give the game a try. The good thing about ‘Wings of War’ is that you do not need a vast amount of space for a simple dog fight, which was as complex as I was willing to go with Bethany. She looked at the planes in my case and selected a ‘Sopwith Snipe’ with Belgian markings; I went for my first purchase a ‘Spad S VII’ with Italian markings. The main difference besides appearance being that the ‘Snipe’ is capable of sharper turns, and the ‘Spad’ had a higher armour class. It did not take Bethany long to get to grips with the whole manoeuvre selection and turn sequence, and we were soon able to get the planes within firing distance. With her sharp turns Bethany manged to get a few volley’s off at me, lucky I kept drawing 0’s for damage. We eventually got each other down to half each other’s starting wound rate. I think by this point she had become a little bored and she slowly slinked off her chair, ‘Snipe’ in hand, grabbed another plane out of the case and started running around the Living room making aeroplane noises. This signalled the end of the game, which I decided to take as partial success. However I will give it a few months before I try for a new round.

Warploque new minis

A while back I supported a kickstarter ‘Trouble in the North’ by Brindie games company ‘Warploque Miniatures’ headed by the very talented Alex Huntley. I really enjoy painting the figures that he produces, and the ones for the Troubles campaign looked really stunning. Of course I went with the Halfling faction, and still await the arrival of these rewards. In the meantime Alex has produced a mini game for his ‘Arcworlde’ setting. This is a few years in the future and there is strife and civil war in ‘Hobbleshire’ there are two factions in this games first shown at SALUTE 2017, although I could not get there, I have been watching the Kickstarter updates, and when I saw the two war bands that feature ion this game, I had to have them, of course I could not afford both sets yet, so I went for the really characterful  ‘Son of Hobbleshire’ lovely clean sculpts. If I had any issues with the new models it be that I don’t think the feet are quite big or Halfling(y) enough, and look a bit like animal claws, but is such a small fault in an otherwise fantastic range. Check out these models as well as Alex’s other collections at: http://www.warploqueminiatures.com/

I need a fully painted battle standard bearer in my ‘Rhordian army’, so decided to paint this guy up first.

One thought on “April Stuff

Leave a Reply

